Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

field of study 2017/5/15 22:02
Hello, I just finished high school and I need to decide what to do next. I'm having trouble choosing a university major, and there's not much time left! After I graduate, I'd like to move to Japan. I'm near fluent in English (C1 as of now) and I'm studying Japanese (thinking about taking JLPT N2 this December).
There's a university specializing in economics that has caught my attention, especially these two courses:
- economic analysis (faculty of management)
- international logistics (faculty of economics)
What do you think? I don't know much about the job market in Japan (or anywhere else in the world really, including my home country...). Recently, I started lurking around Rikunabi but I'm at a loss!
I'd love to hear some feedback from more experienced people.
I have lots of interests and I find it really hard to choose one field of study. I love painting, drawing, cooking, travelling, maths and reading... Besides my native language, I speak English, Japanese and some pre-intermediate French. I like gathering and organizing information.
What field of study (combined with lots of zeal) would guratanee interesting options for a foreign woman like me in Japan?
by purplefish (guest)  

Re: field of study 2017/5/15 23:29
There are no guarantees, ever. Welcome to life.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: field of study 2017/5/15 23:29
You say you like maths and information, so get a BSc in computer science, try to do an internship or study abroad during your studies (in Japan of course) and make contacts while there, and get your Japanese up to a good level. Then you have a good chance of landing a job in IT. Guarantee is something that you will never get, unless you are a genius at something.