Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Unpaid internship with student visa 2017/7/18 01:02
I was an exchange student in a Tokyo uni from March to August 2016 (with a valid student visa from March 2016 to June 2017). When I left for my homecountry which is Italy, immigration didnft punched my resident card as I told them that I was coming back on Sept.
On Sept I came back to Japan (Osaka) and in my entry card for immigration I wrote that I was there to do an unpaid intership for 3 months. Obviously immigration saw everthing from entry card, visa, passport, resident card etc and told me absolutely nothing. In Osaka I went to my local kuyakusho to change address and apply for national health insurance: once again no problem whatsover.
After this Osaka intern, I went to Tokyo to do another internship (always unpaid, for 3 months). I went to the kuyakusho to change address and everything was fine. I stayed in Japan until the the end of March and eventually came back to my homecountry. At Narita airport, immigration simply asked me if I was coming back to Japan in the near future and, as a said no, they punched my zairyu card.
Let's say I was lucky enough to get away with this strange situation for 6 months and everything went smoothly, my concern now is that I'll have trouble in the future applying for a new visa to Japan. I mean, I guess immigration office would investigate my case, eventually find out that I was living in Japan illegally and reject my visa request. Could this happen even though they didn't "catch me" at the right time?
by Sara (guest)  

Re: Unpaid internship with student visa 2017/7/18 10:30
you worked and ern salary and declear unpaid ?.

well they wont find out ..you left the country properly.
by chike20 rate this post as useful

Re: Unpaid internship with student visa 2017/7/18 13:09