Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Child of Japanese Visa Question 2017/10/31 01:30
Hi, im a recently graduated hs student and I came to japan with a tourist visa to apply for university, however I would like to apply for the child of japanese national visa (my mother is japanese) , and I was wondering if there could be any problems with my application since I cannot currently work and am not in a language school. Would I have to prove that I am an aspiring student? Do I have to submit extra documents? Am I still a good candidate for this visa?

I would like to hear from the experiences of fellow children of japanese nationals or people acquaited with this kind of problem.

Thank you :)

by japanesechild  

Re: Child of Japanese Visa Question 2017/10/31 08:55
Talk with immigration.
by justmyday (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Child of Japanese Visa Question 2017/10/31 09:10
Are you sure you are not Japanese yourself?
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: Child of Japanese Visa Question 2017/10/31 14:57
I would also ask the same question as Firas. Either (1) you ARE Japanese due to one of your parents being Japanese, OR, (2) you apply for Child of Japanese National status under the care of your Japanese mother (I believe you do need supporting papers from the Japanese parent).

Since the application of your visa is based on family relationship, not on school or work situation, that is irrelevant.
by .......... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Child of Japanese Visa Question 2017/10/31 16:21
Since OP mentioned to have come on a tourist visa seems that OP does not have a Japanese passport.
If the OP is older than 22 years than automatically Japanese citizenship will be revoked.