Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Working in Japan 2017/11/15 15:36
Hi! I would like you're opinion and advice with this matter. I am a university graduate that just finished a Bachelor degree in agricultural science here in New Zealand. I would like to work there in Japan preferably in agricultural industry. However, my degree is somewhat highly flexible since it would also allow me to work as a teacher.

I am currently looking at ways to be able to get a job there. I am thinking of possibly applying for the JET programme or get a working holiday and then get a working visa.

Another question would be is if I can get a job there in Japan should I take Japanese lessons then? If so, would it be advisable to study Japanese here in New Zealand or should I study Japanese there in Japan?

Thanks for reading and have a good day!
P.S. Any advice would be appreciated
by Doughbert  

Re: Working in Japan 2017/11/15 20:59
If you want to life (and work) in Japan, learning Japanese is essentially. You will need it in most jobs and in every day life.
Learning Japanese is most efficient in Japan, but potentially also more expensive than in your country. (You need a new house....).

If you come as a student you should calculate that you will need about 1,5 years to get from 0 to N2 level and probably 2 years to N1 level. While it is not impossible to find jobs at lower JLPT Levels, N2 is the minimum for most. While you are a student you can work part time. And you are already in Japan.

If you come as JET you essentially start a career as teacher. If this is something you will want to do in life, great. But it might be difficult to get back to agriculture later.

Also for normal work on your field in order to get a visa you will need some years if experience. You can google the conditions for work visa.