Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Is Shinkansen to Osaka possible on 2nd Jan? 2017/12/13 13:00
Hi,

I'll need some help urgently as this is my first time in Japan!
My flight arrives in Tokyo on 31st in the morning and I plan to exchange my JR Pass at the airport once I arrive. Problem is, because hotels are packed in Tokyo during New Year's season and prices are extremely steep, my family of 4 are considering heading to Osaka on the 2nd jan. (We'll have to spend 31st and 1st jan in Tokyo because Shinkansen would mostly be fully packed). However on the 2nd Jan, would it still be as crowded? We can only exchange for the actual JR pass and then do whichever reservations on the 31st, but is it too late?
I'll have to confirm my hotel bookings in Osaka before I arrive so is there a possibility I can't get on the train ride to Osaka on the 2nd? Would heading on the 3rd be a better option? Preferably on 2nd because it's a better fit to our itinerary.

Any help would be appreciated thanks!!!
by Charlipoppi (guest)  

Re: Is Shinkansen to Osaka possible on 2nd Jan? 2017/12/13 17:41
Probably one of the busiest days after new years. All you can do is try.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Is Shinkansen to Osaka possible on 2nd Jan? 2017/12/13 17:44
you can always jump on the non-reserved seating cars. No guarantee of a seat, but if you arrive early and queue up at Tokyo Station, you could be the first few passengers on the train.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Is Shinkansen to Osaka possible on 2nd Jan? 2017/12/13 17:46
That's one case where a JR Pass can be a hindrance, as it severely restricts the trains you can board... As of right now, there are still some Hikari and Kodama with available reserved seats on all three days, but they may be full by the time you get there.