Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 35

1 2
next

17 day Itinerary - Koya-San or Miyajima 2018/3/12 01:19
Hello,

I am planning my first trip to Japan based on very specific building I need to go see (I am an architect) so it may so be the most efficient. I have two day at then end and I am trying to decide how to spend them. I am starting in Tokyo, traveling up to Sendai, then back down to Kanazawa. I know this is inefficient, but we will probably stop at Nikko or some other place along the way to break up the long train ride. From Kanazawa , it is 4 days in Kyoto, with a day trip to Osaka or Nara hopefully. From there I am trying to decide how to spend the last few days. Two days in Naoshima is a must (for the art and architecture). I woukd like to see Hiroshima, but my husband is less enthusiast about Hiroshima/ Miyajima (we are traveling with a small child and he thinks Hiroshima will be too sad). The other idea was to travel from Naoshima back up to Nara, then spend the night at Koya-San. After that, maybe one night in an onsen (Hakone or Izu peninsula) before returning to Tokyo, our flight leaves at 4 in the afternoon, so I think we can leave Hakone or Izu early in the morning and travel by train straight to the airports

Day 1 - arrive in Tokyo
Day 2 - Tokyo
Day 3 - Tokyo, Ghibli in afternoon
Day 4 - Tsjuki Fish market/Disney Sea, night in Tokyo
Day 5 - Train to Sendai
Day 6- Sendai
Day 7- day trip to Nikko/ some other town en route to Kanazawa. Night in Kanazawa
Day 8- Kanazawa
Day 9 - Kyoto
Day 10- Kyoto
Day 11- day trip to Osaka, night in Kyoto
Day 12 -Kyoto
Day 13- Naoshima
Day 14- Naoshima
Day 15 - Nara, night in Koyasan
Day 16 - Onsen in Hakone or Izu
Day 17 - train to Narita airport, fly home

Option 2

Day 1 - arrive in Tokyo
Day 2 - Tokyo