Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Applying to a university in Japan? 2018/4/17 05:20
My apologies for the double post, I posted as a guest earlier however I don't receive emails from this website on hotmail for who knows what reason, I'll just sum everything up in this post.

Essentially I'm a senior high school student in Canada (keep in mind that here we only have 3 years of high school, grades 10-12) looking to study Japanese at a language school after I graduate. Once I finish that, I'd like to apply to a Japanese university, I was looking at Waseda in particular.

For my senior year here, I can graduate with my diploma without taking a senior level (grade 12) of math or science. I'm concerned that if I opt not to, I would have issues being accepted to a university in Japan. Entrance exam aside, as long as I maintain my 80-90% average in my classes and graduate with a diploma, would having those courses actually matter in terms of being accepted?

To my understanding, all I've read that you need is just transcripts/diplomas, N2 (N1 in some cases) Japanese proficiency, some teacher references and to pass the entrance exam.

In short, do they actually look at or care what classes you took as long as you have the diploma and pass their entrance exam? Or would not having a senior level of math/science disqualify me?

Thanks!
by Cookiexii  

Re: Applying to a university in Japan? 2018/4/17 18:21
You might have an easier time dealing with ICU in Mitaka (Tokyo). It's a very good school, with a separate enrollment stream for foreign students like you.

https://www.icu.ac.jp/en/admissions/

by Kyoben Otoru (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Applying to a university in Japan? 2018/4/18 06:24