Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How can I buy ume seeds to grow? 2018/5/16 21:03
I'd like to grow some ume trees, but I can't find seeds or young trees here. I don't know where to look, and I'm only a very low level beginner with the Japanese language (though I'd like to keep learning!).
by Lailoken  

Re: How can I buy ume seeds to grow? 2018/5/17 11:41
Most home centers have a garden area, and will have ume saplings.
by Paul (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How can I buy ume seeds to grow? 2018/5/17 16:20
Not many people grow ume from seeds.

As for nursery trees, you can find them at suburban garden stores, but just as it is with all plants, they are available only during its season, because if it's off-season, you won't be able to successfully grow it anyway. You can also buy them on-line, but it's best to consult at a store to get the right soil and the proper way to plant/grow it.

The best season to plant trees seems to be during December to March. Tell us what area you'll be living at then, and someone may be able to find a garden store near you.

Or if you want to take your chances and grow them from seeds, you should take a seed out of a ripe fruit during July and August, wash it, seal it in a plastic bag, and keep it in the fridge until November.

Hope it helps.
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: How can I buy ume seeds to grow? 2018/5/17 17:46
I think the OP is in the US. Not sure about US import but importing live trees might not be that easy. Might need quarantine or special permits.

I recently heard about a Japanese gardening shop somewhere around San Francisco if I remember correctly. I think it was a program in BBC world service. Try googling and see if they sell it.

Enjoy gardening!
by LikeBike (guest) rate this post as useful