Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

4.16M yen yearly salary in Tokyo? 2018/6/7 21:26
Hello there,

Just today I've received a job offer as a software developer in Tokyo. The offer stands for exactly 4,158,000 yen a year and I assume it's gross. This said, I've found out that 30-40% of my monthly net salary would be spent on a rent, which seems awfully high.

I'm a software developer (specialized in C# and web technologies, with experience in Python and Ruby as well) with 7 years of work experience, 28 years old. My Japanese is on conversational level, but it'd be my first job in Japan.

The questions are simple. Is it worth it? What kinda living I could afford for it while still saving something each month?

Thanks in advance ;)
by Huggykaze (guest)  

Re: 4.16M yen yearly salary in Tokyo? 2018/6/8 12:36
If you're considering the offer, you must be one of those types with a Japan-obession?

If you're very frugal, you can probably save 50,000 or so monthly.
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: 4.16M yen yearly salary in Tokyo? 2018/6/8 12:51
This seems as though it's a reasonably stock standard wage for Japan. It's well above minimum wage and is slightly above english teachers who teach conversational english, but not by much. Accommodation in Tokyo can range wildly in price. A bare bones single room with bathroom in a building without a lift can cost as little as 50,000 yen a month. A normal place closer to 120-150000.....

My prices are 4 years out of wack though as I no longer live in Japan....
by mfedley rate this post as useful

Re: 4.16M yen yearly salary in Tokyo? 2018/6/8 13:24
since the amount you are offered is so detailed, it may be a minimal (basal) salary, and may not include overtime payment and bonus.
by ken (guest) rate this post as useful