Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

What kind of visa do I need? 2018/7/23 13:13
I am an artist traveling from the US to Tokyo in early November. I will be exhibiting my work at an international art show. My art will be for sale during the show. I will be visiting Tokyo a total of 13 days, only 2 of which will be for the art show, the rest of the time will be spent doing regular tourist activities. I am having trouble figuring out what type of visa I should apply for and where. I know that from the US for normal tourism under 90 days no visa, only a passport is required, but it states it is not applicable for stays involving paid activities. I looked into the artist visa, but it is complicated and appears to be for those seeking to live in Japan for an extended amount of time. I looked into a business visa, but it also states that it is not applicable for stays involving paid activities. I would just chance it and enter the country as a tourist, but I am transporting the figurines I will be selling in my checked luggage (Shipping to the venue in Tokyo is INSANELY expensive.) There will be a lot of them, so If I get stopped at customs it could be an issue. If anyone could point me in the right direction here I would really appreciate it.
Thank you.
by GypsyDanger216  

Re: What kind of visa do I need? 2018/7/24 10:46
Enter on the visa waiver programme (you might call it a tourist visa, but it covers what you are doing).

Your sales of your art are not "working in Japan" so work/business visas do not apply.
by JapanCustomTours rate this post as useful

Re: What kind of visa do I need? 2018/7/24 13:38
why you dont contact your local Japanese embassy.
If this exhibition is important you better to arrange well than asking on forum.
by justmyday rate this post as useful