Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Married couple moving inquiries 2018/8/5 04:43
Hello,

My wife and I are interested in the prospect of possibly moving to Japan in a few years so I had a few questions. I've read the standard requests for moving as well as a few posts on here about doing so and it seems that most people only have issues with the visas for work. My wife currently holds a job where she works from home and I'm wondering if there is a way for the business to sign any sort of waver that states that a person will still have a source of income from outside of Japan or she will have to look for a new job within the country that would sign for her. Secondly since she currently holds a four year degree, yet I have no degree but 10 years experience in IT at a major university, would it still be viable for me to find work or should I just go ahead and get a degree (I get free classes). We are currently teaching ourselves Japanese and plan to get a tutor after we have a better grasp of the basics, so we will be language proficient. Also we went on vacation to Japan this past April to Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Takayama, and Hida, so we are fairly sure that this is something we want to do. I would just like to get a good plan of how we should proceed if this is viable.

Thank you.
by Zeronine  

Re: Married couple moving inquiries 2018/8/6 06:15
Your wife with a (bachelor's I assume?) degree and you with ten years of work experience sounds like both of you fulfill the basic requirement for a work visa (for you in the field of your expertise only) provided you find employers in Japan willing to sponsor you for visa. So you would want to check to see your IT experience/skill is of immediate use to companies in Japan.