Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Jobs for gaijin in Japan? 2018/8/20 04:22
Hello,

I am a Czech citizen/US resident married to a Japanese citizen/US resident.

We have a bit saved and would love to move to Japan, however I need to think worst case that I am the sole earner, so my questions are:

How much would you recommend having saved prior to the move?

What jobs, outside of teaching, should I look into? My Japanese is basic at the moment, but I am learning. English speaking positions preferred, but open to suggestions that are applicable to Japanese basic understanding.

Thank you for your help!
by Czechrebel33  

Re: Jobs for gainin in Japan? 2018/8/20 08:24
You havenft told us at what you are working currently. Most positions in Japan will require an at least reasonable level of Japanese. Even menial jobs like working in a conbini. However if you are a professional of some kind, you might be able to find work without Japanese. Itfs not easy but the more specialized you are the likelier. Eg I know several computer experts you know very little Japanese even after years but have fixed jobs. Also researchers at research institutions I know often know no Japanese.

The other alternative is obviously teaching.

As you are married (?) to a Japanese you can get a spouse visa which will allow you to work in any kind of job, so thatfs a big advantage over other foreigners.

by LikeBike (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Jobs for gainin in Japan? 2018/8/20 14:32
Thank you for your response!

Yes, we are married, so that should make things easier.

Ifve managed restaurants for a decade and bartended as well. I love coffee and if we were to stay state-side I would probably open a coffee shop. Other than that no real technical or trade expertise.
by Czechrebel33 rate this post as useful