Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Staying 14 nights in Kyoto? 2018/12/20 13:44
Hi guys, I will be flying to Japan next month. It's more of a rest and relax trip, I have decided to set my base in Kyoto. Will be making day trips to Osaka and Kobe.

Is it a good idea to stay all 14 nights in Kyoto? Or should I stay a few nights in Osaka and Kobe? These cities are rather near to Kyoto but I don't know the travel time (to & fro) and train expenses are worth it? I will be staying in Gion area, 10 minutes walking distance away from the train station. It's my first time visiting Kyoto so I don't really know staying so much time there is ideal?

Would love to hear your opinions and advice.
by Saul Goodman  

Re: Staying 14 nights in Kyoto? 2018/12/20 18:52
10 minutes walking distance away from the train station.
That is hardly 10 minutes to the transport network - you need to get to Kyoto Train station - from Gion that is a lot longer (and two subway trains).

14 days - well, yes, you can spend that long and longer in Kyoto and not exhaust the options, but there is a LOT more in Japan you could experience.
by JapanCustomTours rate this post as useful

Re: Staying 14 nights in Kyoto? 2018/12/20 19:11
Gion is pretty in some parts and pretty seedy in others, especially at night. I suppose that it historically has been an entertainment district, so it figures that there would be streetwalkers and touts about even though they left us alone and focused on the locals. They might be a bit cold that time of year which could keep them off the streets, but it is a hard part of Kyoto and it doesnt display the friendliness and politeness you get elsewhere.