Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Getting a railway job in Japan? 2019/3/24 15:34
Im looking to move to Japan and get a job over there on the Railway maintenance side of things.

My current qualifications include an NVQ Level 3 Advanced Apprenticeship in Mechanical And Electrical Engineering on Railway Rolling Stock. I have over 10 Years experience on rolling stock. Currently working as a Senior Technician with my current company.

Any help would be appreciated :)
by Bokkusu (guest)  

Re: Getting a railway job in Japan? 2019/3/24 17:10
I can easily guess all the documents for maintenance are written in Japanese. Are you at a native level in Japanese?
by .. (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Getting a railway job in Japan? 2019/3/24 19:00
You would need to read and speak near perfect Japanese since you are dealing with safety critical technical equipment.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Getting a railway job in Japan? 2019/3/24 19:37
I met a guy once who was no where fluent in Japanese but he was working in railway CONSULTING. I.e. he works for a company in Japan that oversees the construction of the gShinkansen g in India. He wasnft even Indian himself, I think he was Egyptian or so. He obviously was frequently on business trips to India.

So itfs not entirely impossible to work in Japan in a railway company, but for railway maintenance in Japan, I agree with PPs.

Obviously if you are fully fluent in Japanese thatfs a different story.
by LikeBike (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Getting a railway job in Japan? 2019/3/25 01:51
Additionally, I can hardly imagine that this is something the government is looking to import new labour for. Even if you landed a job you may struggle with visa issues.