Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Open bank account - US taxpayer number? 2019/4/8 15:30
I've been working in Japan for 5 years on contracts, first 3 as an ALT and last 2 at a private Eikaiwa. These were my first jobs out of college and thus I never held a job in the US or paid any US taxes.

However now that I try to open a bank account with MUFG, switching from JP Post Bank, they asked and demanding to know my taxpayer number due tp FATCA. I have never paid taxes in the US or had a taxpayer number.

I have been told, and it seems sensible, that if I live in Japan, work in Japan, earn Japanese yen in Japan, and pay Japanese taxes with my Japanese yen earned from a Japanese company I would not need to pay US income tax.

Upon a quick googe search I learned of the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion (FEIE), which further corroborates that I shouldn't pay US income taxes. And of course when I signed up for JP Post Bank 5 years ago they didn't ask me for this and never have.

So what is going on? What am I missing?
by Lesca6  

Re: Open bank account - US taxpayer number? 2019/4/8 17:10
It is almost certainly true that you won't have to pay US tax, but you must still report your Japanese income to the US tax authorities (after which they will determine that you don't owe them anything). JP Bank is not operating in the US (I believe), so they don't care much about offending the US tax authorities. MUFG does, however.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Open bank account - US taxpayer number? 2019/4/8 17:44
Thank you for the response. Is there an easy way to report my income and get a taxpayer number?
by Lesca6 rate this post as useful

Re: Open bank account - US taxpayer number? 2019/4/8 19:47