Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Minimum amount of work to get a visa 2019/4/10 02:13
Hello,

I am interested in moving to Japan (i am an American citizen). I want to be able to support myself, but would like to live minimally. Is it possible to obtain a work visa to Japan, but only work parttime? If not, what other ways do you all recommend that will maximize my time outside of work/school?

I am a credentialed teacher, and i hope to obtain my Master's Degree (but in Education) prior to moving to Japan.

Thank you in advance for any help!
by bobblo (guest)  

Re: Minimum amount of work to get a visa 2019/4/10 14:02
You need to work enough to be able to make a living (by immigration's judgment, not yours).
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Minimum amount of work to get a visa 2019/4/10 14:24
Can I move to America with minimum work and get a visa?
I do not think this would be possible.

And as above mentioned immigration has some rules
by justmyday rate this post as useful

Re: Minimum amount of work to get a visa 2019/4/10 15:18
Is it possible to obtain a work visa to Japan, but only work parttime?
It doesn't work that way. There are NO work visa, it doesn't exist. There are visas which allow people to work, like instructor visa, engineer visa, international services visa...

You need a company that will sponsor your visa, Japanese immigration will never give you a visa for a part-time job. BTW, it also work that way in your very own country, shocking huh...?
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Minimum amount of work to get a visa 2019/4/10 18:34
Sounds like you need to come over on a student visa (maybe language school
) and work a maximum of 28 hours, after you get permission to work.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful