Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Money Orders? 2019/9/7 17:07
I am studying abroad in Japan, and unfortunately when I got here my debit card would not work for withdrawing cash from ATMs, and my bank doesn't know why. My parents said they can send me a money order and then I take it to a bank in Japan to get money. But I don't know anything about money orders. Does anyone here know whether this would work in my situation? Soon I'm supposed to receive a travel card in the mail so hopefully that will work.
by Ana ƒAƒi (guest)  

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/7 18:55
"Money order" is a very generic term. Ask your parents to be mire precise about what they want to do.

Also, about your ATM card, you might want to try it at ATMs of other bznks that you have not tried yet (e.g., if you have tried at Japan Post and at Seven and it didn't work at either ond, try it at Aeon). Sometimes, cards don't work at some banks but work at others for unclear reasons.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/7 21:33
Yeah, I was thinking I'll try it at Japan Post next time it's open. Aeon accepts international cards?
by Ana ƒAƒi (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/7 21:49
Yes, if you use the ATMs shown here: https://map.aeonbank.co.jp/aeonbank/?lang=en

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/8 05:10
Ah, okay, I will try there as well.

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/8 05:22
Have you notified your bank (debt card issuer) that you will be using it in Japan?
Banks will not honor any transaction they deem gsuspicious.h
by O92 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/8 05:31
Yes, we notified the bank.

Re: Money Orders? 2019/9/8 09:44
Be sure to find one of those ginternational ATMh to use your debit card. I hope that works.