Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Driving in Japan for Nigerian 2019/11/20 09:27
Hello, I am a new resident in Japan from Nigeria on some research fellowship. I discovered upon my arrival here that I need a car to make life easier for me and my family but I heard getting drive in Japan is a herculean task. These are my specific questions which I need help from experienced Nigerian already living and driving in Japan.

Firstly, I was told my international driver's license issue from Nigeria (the card type) is not accepted in Japan. Is this true?

How do I converted my local license from Nigeria to Japanese License?
I read on this forum that I need to do authentication/letter from Nigeria embassy in Tokyo- so, what is the authentication all about? Can I do it with the local Japanese license office in my prefecture without going to Tokyo?

Please kindly help with information on these queries. Thank you.
Best regards
by Achadu  

Re: Driving in Japan for Nigerian 2019/11/20 10:57
There are several countries which just have to pay a fee and do an eye exam.
Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, or the United Kingdom.

All residents coming from other countries have to take a written and driving test.
The written exam is very easy. It will be true or false questions in English if preferable, about road rules and signs.

For the actual driving you need to find a driving school who can give in English if you do not speak Japanese.
by justmyday rate this post as useful

Re: Driving in Japan for Nigerian 2019/11/20 12:50
In addition to above ..

https://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+161585