Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Long layover wait? 2019/11/29 10:11
Hello! If everything goes well I'll be going to Japan for the first time next year early March and hopefully I'll be purchasing my plane ticket next week. I'll be flying in to Tokyo and then transferring to Sendai. This is my first time going abroad in general and having never been through customs I'm curious about timeframes. I understand that it really depends on a lot of factors how long going through customs take; the flights I'm seeing either have a one hour layover in Tokyo or 3 hours. Would it be fine to stick with the one hour and get customs done in time to catch my connectio (and get some money exchanged?)??
Any help is appreciated! Thank you!
by Gure20  

Re: Long layover wait? 2019/11/29 12:22
Is there a transfer of airports in this itinerary? Are you landing at NRT and taking off from HND? You need about 3 hours to be a little safe for such a connection, 4 hrs would be better. More info is needed to answer your question.
by John B digs Japan rate this post as useful

Re: Long layover wait? 2019/11/30 12:39
Hi! Sorry bout that! Itinerary is looking as follows: from Florida to either Houston or New York; land in Narita airport, then take another flight to Sendai airport.

The flights I've seen, the shortest wait in Narita is a little over an hour, and 3 hours being the longest layover wait.

I hope I cleared this up. Thank you very much.

by Gure20 rate this post as useful

Re: Long layover wait? 2019/11/30 14:27
Did you check all the flights from one airline (meaning THEY suggested that transfer), or did you look them up separately?