Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Lack of Japanese job experience...? 2019/12/10 11:18
Hello guys,

Right now, I am still studying for N3 after graduating university. I don't have much practice with speaking, since I don't know any Japanese, but I am still trying to work on my vocab, kanji, and listening as often as possible. However, I am worried that it will be hard to get a job later on since I have no job experience. What a paradox. I can't get a job until I get to N2 or N1, but then, I might not get hired due to my lack of experience. I live in the US, and can't travel to Japan yet.

What kind of job can I apply to in order to improve my Japanese faster, and gain experience? Or am I supposed to keep doing something else unrelated (at least I make money, $18/hr...), until I master N1?
by IamVeryPoor (guest)  

Re: Lack of Japanese job experience...? 2019/12/10 13:42
Many Japanese companies donft hire for expertise or experience.
Unless you are going for an elite firm it wonft matter.

What will matter is your Japanese level.
N2 is not acceptable in most positions, but if you can get to N1 and can fluently go through the interviews in Japanese, then there should be plenty of opportunities for you.
by Ok (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Lack of Japanese job experience...? 2019/12/10 14:12
The vast majority of foreigners working in professional services in Japan did not get their first job in Japan. For example, most of the foreigners working IT jobs in Japan previously worked IT jobs in their home countries, then leveraged that experience into getting a job in Japan. Same goes for finance, marketing, and most other "businessperson" type jobs.