Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Would love feedback on my travel plans 2020/1/9 03:44
Greetings everyone!

I would like to ask for some feedback/suggestions on a rough travel outline I've put together for an upcoming trip to Japan. Hubby and I are visiting Japan for 10 days from April 10th-20th, hoping to experience the beautiful cherry blossoms during our trip. We hope this will be the beginning of many trips because both of us have always wanted to visit Japan for many years. I started studying Japanese 5 months ago in preparation for the trip.

We are not fans of busy cities, big crowds and heavily touristed areas and want to visit areas that can offer us a sense of traditional Japanese history and culture. There are so many places we want to see that it's fast becoming overwhelming to try and pick where to go. We plan to visit Northern Japan next year Hokkaido next year, but for this trip, here's my thoughts:

Stay 3 nights in 3 different areas, as we'd rather not be staying every night in a different ryokan. That way, we have have a "home base" from which to explore neighboring towns.

1) 3 nights in Kanazawa (exploring Nagamichi/Shirakawa/Kenroku-en garden/Kanazawa castle/Ogimachi village)
This seems to be where we would go first based on cherry blossoms at the time we will be visiting (10th-20th) although the dates for 2020 don't seem to have been released yet.

2) 3 nights in Nara (exploring Nara/Kyoto - perhaps a day trip to the fishing village of Ine?)

3) 3 nights somewhere else.
- Perhaps around Narai/Tsumago/Takayama
- Going up to Kakunodate and exploring some of the towns in that area
- Other suggestions would be very much welcomed!

For each area we stay, I'd like to be able to have easy access (train/bus) to neighboring towns for some exploring. We will have a rail pass.