Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

On full-time employment but working less? 2020/3/4 12:40
I work at an all-inclusive skiresort at Hokkaido.
I work as a full-time employee, however my contract does not prescribe any workinghours (all though it says that there is work beyond the prescibed hours)
I have a basic salery per hour (minimum wages).
My workposition is gservices at the hotelh. First I worked in the restaurant but transferred to Takkyubin/piccolo due to management issues. In the restaurant I worked 8h. The first 2 weeks as piccolo I also worked 8h, but now it has become more the rule that I (and my two co-workers) work 6,5 or 7,5 or 7 or 5,5 hours etc. and rarely 8h.
Hr tells me that itfs not a problem (nor a legal one) but I find it hard to belive that full-time employment is less than full-time (8h/day)
Can I do nothing (legal) to assure that I work 8h/day? Are they in their right and Ifm just being used/misused to their advantage?
by Jonas Kristensen (guest)  

Re: On full-time employment but working less? 2020/3/4 17:31
What kind of contract do you have? Does it say full-time work, with (monthly) salary specified, based on 8-hour, 5-day week, for example? Or does it specify (hourly) pay/wage only, with no hours determined? And if you work only 5 hours (even if it was due to hotel managementfs reasons), you get paid the full monthly salary or only the hourly wages for the hours worked? Does it specify when the overtime starts, for example does it say gyou get 25% more overtime pay if you work over 7 hours a dayh (8 hours at work place, minus 1 hour break) or something like that?