Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Disclosure about my tattoos to my boss? 2020/9/7 14:13
So, I have been working as an engineer for a Japanese company for 9 months now. It is a small, not so traditional company, with 50% of employees being foreigners. My boss is not a very formal person, he is from Osaka and can speak english just fine.

I have a full leg and half of one of my arms tattooed. I have never felt the need to disclosure about them because I have always covered them up. The thing is, we will have a company trip to an onsen next month, and of course my tattoos will be exposed in one way or another... I checked the onsen's website and they seem to be ok with tattoos, but I am thinking that I should tell my boss in advance, just so we don't end up in any "weird" situation because of it. What do you think?

Thanks!
by John (guest)  

Re: Disclosure about my tattoos to my boss? 2020/9/7 15:01
I meant "the need to disclose about them", sorry 😅
by John (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Disclosure about my tattoos to my boss? 2020/9/8 06:41
Despite what many people might think, there are a lot of people with tattoos in Japan. I have noticed that over the past few months I see someone different each day with visible tattoos in my local neighbourhood - some small, others much larger/extensive. Fortunately, mostly the art work is of a good quality.
If you have a good/relaxed relationship with your boss and co-workers, then you could easily broach the subject with them before the trip - as you say, there is an informal style and half of the company has non-Japanese workers. You might not be the only one with tattoos.
by JapanCustomTours rate this post as useful

Re: Disclosure about my tattoos to my boss? 2020/9/8 09:02