Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Student visa revoked if your grades are bad? 2020/12/7 19:25
Hello
I just started studying in Japan and I'm not one of the best students around(my grades are decent but not incredible) and I was worried about a thing that have been floating around my head: "Can your school revoke your studying visa if you are bad at studying?" And if that is true can they do that whenever? Or just at the end of the year?
by Niccolo (guest)  

Re: Student visa revoked if your grades are bad? 2020/12/8 12:42
In basic terms, a student visa is dependent on the student being enrolled at a school, and most schools do have some sort of minimum level of grades or test scores students are required to maintain in order to continue being enrolled. For example. if you get accepted to a university, then fail each and every class for two years in a row, odds are you're going to get kicked out (and that's not unique to the Japanese education system either).

So yes, it's possible that if your grades are too low, they'll fall below the minimum standards of the school, and if that causes you to get expelled, you'd no longer be enrolled at a school, which would likely void your student visa (the student visa was issued so that you could study at a school in Japan, but if you've been expelled, you're no longer doing that).

「Can they do that whenever? Or just at the end of the year?」