Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Replanning Cancelled Trips 2021/1/17 08:01
Hi All,

Last year like many I had a trip to Japan which was cancelled due to covid. I'm slowly putting together two trips which I'll be able to travel to depending on the covid situation and my work commitments (I'm a teacher so can only travel at specific times).

I've travelled around Japan more than most but am looking for suggestions for extensions for my second trip as I've visited what I thought was the main locations in Japan (see my profile - which does not cover all locations visited!)

First trip (September 18 - October 2nd)

4/5 night loop of central Miyagi/Iwate and areas affected by Tsunami via hire car
2 night drive around Sano (Tochigi) visiting small towns
2 nights around Utsunomiya (1 day driving to Tobu Wonderland + Edo Wonderland around Nikko, 1 day around Oya and Utsunomiya)
2 nights Chichibu

I'm expecting the times to bleed into the extra 3/4 nights I have

Second Trip (later December - mid Jan around 3 weeks)

5'ish nights in Tokyo
3/4 nights in Nagoya
1/2 nights in Gujo-Hachiman and Mino (via train and no car due to snow)
4'ish nights in Kyoto
1 night Enoshima (used to live close to here but never visited even though visited Kamakura around 10 times!)

I am looking for new stuff to do in the following prefectures

Chiba Prefecture (have visited Narita, Sawara and Nokogiriyama)
Ibaraki (visited Mito and Fukuroda falls)
Yamanashi (visited Fuji Five Lakes and Kofu)
Potential Stuff in Mie (visited Ise and Matsusaka along with main Kumono Taisha sites)
Major Art Instillations around Seto Sea (already been to Naoshima, Teshima and Inujima)