Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Spouse visa to working visa before divorce 2021/4/12 07:30
I'm a foreigner working in Japan as an engineer, married to a Japanese national. After living together for almost a year, I want to get divorced. The person I married has become demanding, obnoxious and does not take care about her physical appearance anymore. In less than three months my spouse visa will expire, so my wife wants me to renew it. I instead want to get divorced and have my company sponsor me a working visa, since I have a 4 year bachelor's engineering degree (and I know other foreigners at the company were also sponsored).

Im worried that maybe my wife won't cooperate with the divorce (like signing papers) and I run out of time and get kicked out of Japan.

All the information I find online about getting divorce say to first get divorced, then notify the immigration office, and finally change the visa.
Is it possible to first have my company sponsor my visa to change it from spouse visa to working visa and AFTER that get divorced? That way I could go through the divorce with peace of mind knowing that I can stay in Japan no problem.
by Albery (guest)  

Re: Spouse visa to working visa before divorce 2021/4/12 11:42
Yes to pretty much all you questions. Immigration can touch on the finer details. You'll need to talk to them anyway for your change of status.
by H (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Spouse visa to working visa before divorce 2021/4/12 14:05