Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

hirigana and katakana, which first? 2006/10/14 02:29
I will hopefully soon be attending the Yamasa Institute. I know I should study hirigana and katakana before I go, but which do I start out with? How long on average does it take to learn???? And does anyone know of any online resources or textbooks that would help me learn before leaving???
by Steve L  

Hiragana and katakana 2006/10/14 11:02
Steve,

Firstly, it's "hiragana".
I would suggest learning them both together.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

kana 2006/10/16 08:17
I learned both hiragana and katakana together and as a Japanese tutor, I teach both together. As for how long it will take, that depends on how much you study. I learned them all in about 2 months but that was from a class. I assume you are studying on your own so you can learn at your own pace. good luck!
by yume rate this post as useful

Another 2006/10/16 10:26
Another vote for hiragana first... I learned hiragana and then katakana immediattly following.
by TheRage800 rate this post as useful

BOTH 2007/4/12 17:33
i would say hirigana unless you have to study foreign stuff but try to do both but katakana is easier
by sushi chef lolz rate this post as useful

Kana 2007/4/13 05:22
When I learned kana I actually found Hiragana to be easier...

Kata 2007/4/13 05:59
Im going to japan this summer and learning katakana first, right now ( along with japanese 1 and the first box of kanji cards )

Its frustrating because once I know what the symbold mean, Im still at a loss to figure out what the word is because it sounds so drastically different than it would if spoken in english.

I hope i get better at it.

I plan to continue to learn more japanese in the future.