Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Exchange - High School 2006/11/3 15:27
Okay, this is difficult. Seeing as I couldn't find any answers to my question/s in the other posts, I figured I would post here. From the beginning - I'm a high-school student in Australia and I wish to go to Japan on exchange (as you may have guessed from the title). I've been studying Japanese for 3 years, and while my parents have the money to send me over there, they don't want to. I currently have less than enough in my bank account (less than $1500), so paying for myself isn't really an option... I have checked a few scholarships out, and even applied for a few through AFS, and though I was shortlisted for every one, I was beaten every time. What are my options if I want to attend high-school there? Any suggestions? Also, what sort of exchange programs (preferably scholarships) that I can apply for? I'm an A-average student, so grades aren't really a problem. The ones I've seen don't take people over 18, and they still have to be in school. I would prefer to go just after Year 12(end of next year)...? I'm really at my wits end, I'm sure it would seem I am lazy posting here, but I just have no clue as to how these things work.
by Rinia  

. 2006/11/4 08:44
If you are over a certain age you won't be able to participate in exchange programs, if you graduated already you can't at the high school level, as it would be pointless for both sides to benefit from it. Exchange programs are generally organized by the local school districts and schools themselves.

The only suggestion and best bet I can offer to you is to graduate high school and apply for Collge in Japan.
by .. rate this post as useful

YFU 2006/12/20 07:06