Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Chubu ininterary & rail pass info 2007/9/26 09:07
Hello everyone. I'm traveling to Japan with my family in late October/early November. I lived in Tokyo for a year in 2003 so I can speak Japanese and know my way around quite a bit. However, this is my first time really ''vacationing'' so I need some advice. So far our itinerary is as follows:

10/21-10/25: TOKYO
10/25-10/28: KYOTO with possible day trip to NARA
10/28-10/30: KOYA-SAN
10/30-10/31: OSAKA

At this point my mother and sister return to Narita and fly home, leaving my father and I free until we leave on the evening of November 4. My dad and I would like to do something in the Chubu region and we are particularly interested in Takayama and Shirakawago.

We've discussed potentially traveling through Kanazawa and Toyama to create a loop, but given that we have really only got three days that seems like it might not be enough time to see anything. Here are my questions:

1) What is the best route from Osaka through Takayama/Shirakawago and back to Tokyo? Out and back through Nagoya?

2) I've looked at the possibility of returning to Tokyo through Matsumoto to Nagano, but it seems like that takes quite a bit of time due to the bus/train trip from Takayama to Matsumoto.

3) We are considering renting a car in Osaka and returning it in Nagoya or Nagano to return to Tokyo via shinkansen. Do you think this is a worthwhile venture? Will it enable us more flexibility to see the countryside? Will it save us money? Will it be faster than taking the train and busses?