Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Moving To Japan After College 2007/10/27 01:06
Hi guys. I am sure this has been asked a million times, but I figured I would ask as it pertains to my own situation.

I am a College student(originally from Bosnia, now leaving in AZ) right now graduating with an associates in a few weeks. I plan to keep going till I have my masters though. My focous is Networking (associates) Information Security (Bachelors) and Technical Project Mangement(Master's). I did quite a bit of research on everything but I would like to ask about IT industry specifically in cities like Yokohama, since thats where I plan to live, Osaka is a possibility too. I hope to speak Japanese somewhat profficientlly by the time I move. What should I expect, as far as work, and to a lesser extent salary expectations? Lastly, how difficult will it be for me to stay there as far as visas are concerned. I found some info on it but nothing in much detail. Any other general tips are appreciated too.

Thanks guys
by Alen  

IT in Japan 2007/10/27 10:40
If you can commute to Tokyo (only about 30 mins from Yokohama) you will expand your job opportunities by about 100.) It sounds like you will be well qualified. One challenge will be that most companies prefer to interview with people who are already in Japan, so you might need to come here without a job already set up.

As there are plenty of foreigners here who don't speak much Japanese working for international companies in IT (most of my husband's colleagues don't speak much Japanese) don't worry too much about your Japanese level affecting your chances of getting a job. Obviously the more you speak and read the easier your life will be outside work though.
by Sira rate this post as useful

Thanks 2007/10/28 10:47