Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Student ultra-low price accommodation! 2008/4/9 07:57
Hi, I'm a student going to Tokyo for a week. I've looked around on this site and booking sites (e.g. asiarooms) but could not seem to get a really low priced accommodation. I just need a roof over my head that's slightly more sophisticated than a bus shelter basically!!

I'm wondering if anyone knows any decent love hotels/hostels/YMCAs that are in safe areas and below ’20 (USD40) a night. I know its pushing it, but I'm sure one can find such accommodation in any country!

Thanks so much for any help!
by DY  

hostels 2008/4/9 09:57
love hotel are expensive as they charge for short stays of a few hours. a whole night stay is at least the same price as a medium price business hotel. look at www.japanhotel.net and choose a hostel in the Asakusa area. YMCA is a US thing, not found in too many other countries around the world. You could also Google "hostels in Japan" etc. for other sites. let's face it Tokyo like Paris, New York, London etc. isn't supposed to be cheap.
by Auntie Bert rate this post as useful

Manga kissa 2008/4/9 10:01
DY,

If you just want a roof over your head and can't afford the cheapest business or capsule hotels, look for internet cafes ("manga kissa"). Many have private booths with reclining chairs where less fortunate people spend the night. Some place have showers as well.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

Re: Cheap Accomodations 2008/4/9 12:03
Have you thought about couch surfing? Of course I have not done it but it is free and a great way to meet people.

http://www.couchsurfing.com/

Cheers,

George
by ...... rate this post as useful

yoyogi 2008/4/9 12:21