Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Help finding hostels/cheap hotel 2008/4/13 03:33
hello, I'm a college student seeking a affordable place to stay. As my trip to Japan is just around the corner, I have yet to find some places to stay.
My plan is to get a shinkansen pass to be able to travel to the cities and prefectures i want to visit.
The place i want to hit are Tokyo (where i will be landing), Shinjuku, Akagi, Akhibara, Chiba, Kanagawa, Osaka, Yokohama, Kyoto, Okayama, Ebisu, etc.

which how much cheaper is the J-Rail than then shinkansen?

incase you all are wondering I will be there from June 1st to June 17th.

Your help and comments are greatly appreciated,

thanks,

Greg
by chnsx7  

...... 2008/4/13 12:07
Affordable and nearly guaranteed to find a room without a reservation is simply a Capsule Hotel.
In Tokyo I stayed a handful of times at the Capsule Inn Akhibara in Akhibara, your looking at $40 a night.

Shinjuku and Akhibara are just districts in Tokyo, so you can visit Shinjuku and just make a short trip back to Akhibara for the capsule inn.

All those cities you mention have hostels, capsule hotels or atleast business hotels that run less then $70 a night.

Kyoto,it the one place I see lots of hostels walking distance of the bus terminals, its shouldnt be too hard to find a room on short notice or no notice. They run around $20

The JR pass is a good deal with your traveling, plus it comes useful for Tokyo traveling.

You really need to do a bit more research, as its fairly easy to stay cheap in Japan.
This site has ads for various hostel reservation sites, I suggest looking into hostels.

by Fooly rate this post as useful

help is at hand 2008/4/13 15:41