Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Confidence when speaking Japanese 2008/6/9 01:52
Hi everyone. I have been studying Japanese on and off for six years. I can understand almost anything and I'm pretty good with kanji (i know about 800 or so) BUT I am HORRIBLE at speaking!! I can say what I want to say in my head but it won't come out of my mouth! Right now, I have been in japanese for 4 months and I have 2 more to go before I return to Canada. Whenever I need to speak japanese i freeze up, or I am only to say simple, basic phrases. Even with my japanese friends. Then later when i'm alone I can think of 100 other ways I could have said something in Nihongo. It's frustrating because I know I can speak well (i can do it no problem when im by myself practicing) but when it comes to an actual situation then i get stuck. Any tips on overcoming my fears would be greatly appreciated!! Onegai shimasu! ^_^
by Kayla  

just speak 2008/6/9 16:39
I think the best way is just to speak, even if the sentences is not 100% correct. Just like learning how to drive, u cant drive by only learning the theory. Watching japanese drama can be another good idea to practise speaking fluently.

I used to take up japanese lessons in my school. The 1st time I study japanese, i know how to write my sentences but its a problem trying to speak. My mind just become blank. But after i met my Jbf, we spoke on the phone every night (using broken english and japanese) I realised my japanese improved tremendously. Somehow it just improves naturally.

So, just keep trying and dont be afraid. Good luck!
by amanda rate this post as useful

Fears 2008/6/9 22:28