Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Translation job 2008/8/25 09:18
Hi. I am a Japanese married to a native English speaker and have been living in his country for nearly 15 years. I used to work 4 days a week, but now I have a small baby to take care of, so I stay home as a full-time mom. I do miss working, but now I want to stay home with my baby, so I am kind of considering to do a translation(Japanese-English) job which I can do at home through Internet. If there's someone who does the translation work professionally or as a freelance, I'd be happy to receive your advice on this. I have zero experience in this field, and have no idea if I need to go to a school(or take an online course), or need to get certified. I heard that the translation work doesn't pay much, but I am not thinking of making a lot of money, as my husband has a very good job. I just want to find something that I can do at home and use my language skill. Anyways, I thank you in advance for your help and advice! :-) :-) :-)
by CJ  

translator? difficult. 2008/8/25 14:18
I'm not a pro but studying translation.
You live in UK? If you want to get translation job from Japan, it's difficult. As you may know, there're tons of translators looking for a chance. And that job needs not only a language skill but professional knowledges, like computer, machine engineering, finances, law, or something. If you'd been in a company and gotten your major, you'll have certain opportunities to get translation job. How about that point?
And can you do the work with such a small baby?
No certification needed, because companies doesn't consider that so much. They need "skill", "experience" and "sense".