Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japanese-Japanese dictionary? 2008/10/4 23:25
Hello,

Since I started learning Japanese I have used (of course) a Japanese-English/English-Japanese dictionary. This has worked well but I am reaching the point where I feel like it might be harming my ability to develop a "Japanese brain." I read a book recently, "Study English in Reverse!" (applicable not only to English but to all languages) and the author suggested NOT "translating" from your second language into your first, but instead investing in a dictionary a native speaker would use as soon as you can comfortably do so.

Anyone have any experience with this? I can't shake the feeling that using a J-E dictionary is sort of like "cheating" and is forcing me to think about Japanese in English.

I am somewhere between JLPT 2 and 1 and can read comics and games easily, novels and nonfiction books can give me some trouble based on subject/difficulty.

Finally, if you suggest a J-J dictionary, what is a good one to look for? I am probably leaning towards an electronic dictionary so I can save time looking stuff up, and can carry it easily in my bag.

Thanks in advance!
by newtmonkey  

... 2008/10/5 21:52
Japanese - Japanese dictionary (used by Japanese people) might not be the best solution for non-native learners, at least not in their printed format. The reason why I say so is because the definitions given in Japanese come with full kanji (the 1945 "joyo" kanji AND beyond), and the definitions at times are not very specific, even to Japanese readers (including myself). And probably dealing with the normally fine print, and having to possibly go to another kanji dictionary often to look up kanji which you might find difficult to read, might not really be encouraging.