Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Yen dropping, what would be wise? 2008/10/25 16:19
Currently, I am a student at a Japanese language school. My course ends in december, and I was planning on extending it for another three months after that.

However..

With the yen dropping as crazy as it is now, it is becoming increasingly hard for me to live here. I am European, and the last three weeks my stay here has become atleast 1/5 more expensive, which is a lot considering I had 8000 euros for the 6 months that I would stay here.

I am now thinking of what would be wise, since I definitely don't want to leave Japan after december already but I am worried that I will get into serious financial trouble if the Yen continues to go this way.

One thing I have been thinking of is trying to get a job these next two months, so that after my course ends in december I could perhaps stay in Japan for 6 months or more. However, I don't have a student visum (I was supposed to study for 6 months, so the school advised me to leave and re-enter) and since I have only graduated my high school last year, I don't hold any bachelor degree either. My English is fluently although I am not native, and I also speak French and German and Dutch. Is it possible for me to find a job, and preferably one where the company would get me a green card/working permit? And what would be sectors for me to look into? Any advise would be highly appreciated!
by Giel  

working holiday? 2008/10/25 17:47
Without a degree (or a number of years relevant work experience) you aren't eligible for any kind of working visa, I'm afraid, it is a requirement of Immigration. No company can sponsor you for a visa if you don't meet that requirement.

Have you checked whether there is a working holiday visa for people of your nationality?