Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Long hair for men and employment? 2008/12/11 15:24
I have heard sometimes that Japan is a quite conservative country.
I'm a college student of 22 from Denmark and I have long (shoulders) silverbolde hair (kinpatsu).
Is it likely to be an issue when trying to find a job?

I am not a punk/pothead/hippe/homeless or anything.

I just heard some really extreme stories about hair from Japan, people getting kicked out of highschool for dyeing their hair etc..
by shivan  

Long hair 2008/12/11 17:13
Shivan,

It depends on what kind of job you are applying for.
by Dave in Saitama rate this post as useful

Hair! 2008/12/11 23:52
Well you're not Japanese, so I doubt anyone will blame you for your natural hair color. However I don't know if the length will make a difference.

Maybe keeping it tied back and neat will help.
by Kelly rate this post as useful

Depends 2008/12/12 08:07
As above, colour won't be an issue as long as it isn't blue. Length, well, are you looking for a job as an investment banker or a bartender?
by Sira rate this post as useful

job 2008/12/12 16:51
I'm probably more in the bartender/waiter category than the investment banker one.
by shivan rate this post as useful

it depends 2008/12/12 17:38
If your just looking to get a casual job like bartending then your find and dont worry. seriously i've seen some j guys with the most wacked out hair i have ever seen in my entire life! lol.

If your looking to get a job at a company thats a different story. I actually knew this japanese guy who had to wear a short hair wig to cover his long hair because his boss didn't like it. it was pretty funny actually.

so yeah it depends on the situation and the boss.
by sakuraneko rate this post as useful

... 2008/12/13 18:09