Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Traditional Japanese family. 2009/2/16 02:15
Hi there. I'm asking these questions as these answers will better help me develop a part of a fictional character's backstory. I've tried Googling information, but I haven't found anything very helpful yet. I'd greatly appreciate the help - I want to be as accurate as possible when writing. Forgive my ignorance if I make mistakes while posing these questions. :/ I'm not too good at wording my thoughts either. Again, just as a note, I'm not referring to modern day family dynamics, but instead, what would considered conventional.

1) A question of inheritance: if a family has a history of its descendants living in the same house generation after generation, is this something that applies only to the eldest son (in the case that there is more than one son?) If so, does the second son live elsewhere when he is married?

2) If a father and mother die prematurely, leaving behind a young son and the father's elderly mother (let's say it was the wishes of the father for his son to be sent off to study somewhere, therefore he can't take care of the grandmother), who would take care of the father's elderly mother? Is it possible that she would go back to the family she was a part of before married off?

Again, sorry if things don't quite make sense... I can't really explain myself too well.

Thank you very much for helping out.
by N. (guest)  

. 2009/2/16 11:34
Traditional? Conventional?
How could we give you an appropriate answer without knowing what time you have in mind??

It can be drastic difference between the pre-war (WW2) and after, or even between 1950s and 1970s, just for example.
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

Sorry about being vague. 2009/2/16 11:42