Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Life Experience Degree 2009/2/24 08:38
Hello, I'm planning on applying to a company that teaches English conversational skills to Japanese students. I have a Bachelors, but it is a Life Experience Bachelors Degree. Has anyone had experience with these in the companies? Or know anyone who is doing it with that type of Degree? Thanks.
by IOA (guest)  

... 2009/2/24 08:50
It depends on where you obtained your degree from. If it is from an accredited university or organization then yes, that would satisfy the immigration requirement of a bachelor's degree. If it is not from an accredited organization, and it appears that the most "life experience degrees" fall into this category, then it would not satisfy the immigration requirements and you would not be able to obtain a work visa with it.
by yllwsmrf rate this post as useful

?? 2009/2/24 08:50
In other words, you haven't graduated from university? Or is this some new qualification I haven't heard of? If you mean you have just lived for a while, that's not going to fly with Japan Immigration, who want to see a copy of your diploma (from an accredited university), or proof of 3 years+ teaching experience before they will issue you a working visa.

If you are from a Commonwealth country and are planning to come on a working holiday visa, then the life experience qualification may work with individual companies/schools, but you won't know unless you apply.
by Sira (guest) rate this post as useful

Thanks! 2009/2/24 08:58
Thank you for your responses so far. It is an accredited school, but it is apparently not accredited by the United States Government. It is an accredited by several authorities though. I guess I will have to see through which company I choose.
by IOA (guest) rate this post as useful