Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Transition from ALT job to (?) 2009/3/2 18:00
Hello,

I'm currently contemplating taking an ALT position in Tokyo...but first a little background info on myself to help with replies to my question. I have a BA degree (Majoring in Poli Sci & Econ) and have 4 years professional working experience (at various levels and depts within the bank) /w the Royal Bank of Canada. I also have a TEFL certification along /w professional references and various certifications to be a martial arts (wing chun) and a ski instructor. I speak native English (duh), fluent Cantonese and French, as well as a basic level of Mandarin. I'd love to add Japanese to my language repertoire as well. I am currently residing in Hong Kong, have been living here for the past 2 months. The banking/finance/IT job market to say the least is pretty sh!t at the moment (in HK and pretty much everywhere else in the world). Headcount freezes and lay offs everywhere. Thus, taking an ALT job in the interim until the market recovers seems like a good idea to me. Now, on to my question...

My concern is that after taking an ALT position (usually a contract is min 1 year) how difficult is/was it for people in a similar position as myself, to jump back into their previous industry? I'd appreciate it if anyone who has had a background in banking/finance/IT that did ALT'ing in the short term and went back to their previous industry of expertise could possibly answer this post.

On a side note, will experience any additoinal difficulties as a valid Canadian passport holder residing in HK when I apply to ALT jobs in Japan? I noticed that JET and Aeon (for example) require candidates to be available for in person interviews. Is there a way around this?

Thanks in advance to everyone replying. You guys are awesome.