Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Finding food alone 2009/7/21 11:37
I will be traveling alone to Japan soon for 10 days and staying mostly in the populated areas (Tokyo/Osaka/Kyoto). It is my first time going and I'm a little concerned about what I should be expecting as far as finding places to eat. My Japanese is minimal, I know how to ask the basic things, but don't think I'd be comfortable ordering off a menu. What and where can I expect to be eating for breakfast/lunch/dinner? Are there many menus available in English? Thanks.
by CzarC (guest)  

. 2009/7/21 12:28
Hi, I felt the same way you did when I went to Japan. I was very surprised how easily it was to get the food you wanted. Many restaurants have the photos in their menus or they have plastic food in front of the restaurant. You can point to one of these to show your waiter what you want. Also, there are many people in the restaurant business who understand English. Plus, if you get really desperate you can always go to McDonald's.

There are so many wonderful restaurants that your big problem will be selecting what type of food you would like to eat. Enjoy!
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

not much of a problem 2009/7/21 12:48
All the areas you have mentioned will be used to seeing foreigners. Of course some wait staff may be a little uncomfortable, but just speak slowly, and if you have trouble, you can always go to inexpensive restaurants that have plastic displaysof the food in the windows, gesture for the wait person to go outside with you, and point to what you want.