Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

ALT dress code? 2009/8/12 06:55
Assistant Language Teacher for a public school... I'm a woman and working there soon.. what's the dress code?
by UreshiiMiko  

. 2009/8/12 16:52
Ask the company|school you will be working for, but "generally" speaking you can't go wrong with business casual.
by ExpressTrain (guest) rate this post as useful

dress for ALT 2009/8/12 22:53
I used to be an ALT and for a while I worked as a substitute so saw various schools...until you know your school I'd dress up a bit; a casual skirt is good for a start.
My experience was that the elementary schools' teachers dressed more casually as the classes were more physical. Junior High was a mix, but still, pretty casual, but I had one teacher ask me to speak to another ALT about her wearing tank tops to class, they thought it looked kind of...skimpy. So I'd steer away from sleeveless.
Last, High Schools varied wildly but were the most dressed-up. More upscale urban schools had more upscale urban dress - guys wore ties. Women in skirts. More rural, lower academic-level schools were more relaxed.
I guess I haven't helped much other than to say, it depends. Start with a skirt and a top with sleeves, go from there.
by Spendthrift (guest) rate this post as useful

great! 2009/8/13 04:06
now I'm curious about the shoes. They told me in an email to wear shoes for indoors only. I'm guess a short heel that's black?
by UreshiiMiko rate this post as useful

indoor shoes 2009/8/13 09:43
now I'm curious about the shoes. They told me in an email to wear shoes for indoors only. I'm guess a short heel that's black?