Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

can i use my cellphone in Japan? 2009/10/20 13:05
hi,

Can someone advise if i can use my Nokia 6280 cell phone in Japan.

I think its 3G, with the following
Dual mode WCDMA 2100 and GSM Tri-band 900/1800/1900.

I was hoping i can use my cellphone in Japan and buy their sim card there.

thanks
by Lana (guest)  

... 2009/10/20 17:26
can't buy SIM cards......will need roaming
by fmj rate this post as useful

.. 2009/10/20 17:32
UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
If its got this it will work on roaming

... 2009/10/20 18:03
hi,

Sorry, I'm not really good with tech terms but I checked my phone specs & it says below..

"# EDGE: Mobile broadband access with upload up to 118.4 kbps and download up to 236.8 kbps"

"Fast WCDMA and EDGE connections for broadband-speed browsing plus tri-band GSM phone with global roaming capability".

so I guess i can use my phone..? If yes, then would i just need to purchase a calling card? or? I will just need to make minimal phone calls within Japan when I get there (probably just need less than 90min of calling time).

Many thanks.
by Lana (guest) rate this post as useful

sim 2009/10/20 18:31
can't buy SIM cards......will need roaming

Softbank reportedly sells prepaid SIM cards.

http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+64845
http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+51551
http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+66804

Lana,

Provided your phone is unlocked, then it MAY be possible for your phone to work in Japan. Try calling your carrier and ask if your phone model can roam in Japan. And if your phone isn't unlocked you will need to figure out how to do that.