Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 21

1 2
next

wood used under tatami mat 2004/7/10 22:03
I will be replacing the wood under my father-in-laws tatami mats in a room in his home in Fukui. I hope to find out what kind of wood is under them and what kind of nails are holding them down. The reason being is that I would like to be as knowledable as possible before leaving Seattle USA.
Also does anyone know of a place that rents tools by the day in Fukui?
I am an experienced carpenter in Seattle and would like to know if there will be much difference in construction methods in Japan
by Kevin  

. 2004/7/11 15:01
They are ordinally, common and rough lumbers, so cheap. Under them, you will see the bare earth soil. If it is a very old and traditional house, no nail used (nail did not exist). Once they used hinoki (wood) as pilars (very rich people). Modern and ordinally wooden houses are used nails, and are not quite better constructed (mainly, because of high labor cost, shorter construction term, lower construction technics and lower quality materials. (that means that no young Jap people want to take a hard job, which needs lots of patience). The difference between Jap and US wooden houses is, mainly, with anti-earthquake structure or not. Examples. Horyuji or daibutsuden.
by TOSHI rate this post as useful

? 2004/7/11 15:27
I'm a complete amateur when it comes to tatami. But are you really just replacing the "wooden" part of the tatami? That doesn't make sense to me. Are you sure you're not replacing the most consuming part which is the woven grass "igusa" sheet, and reforming the whole thick foundation which consist of layers of two or three different material?