Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

What is the cafe culture like in Tokyo 2010/3/31 19:44
I work as a writer and love working in cafe's. I will be in Tokyo in may and wanted to know where is best to stay that i'd find many coffee shops, or places where people sit outside and read etc.
by Michael (guest)  

mostly chains 2010/4/2 12:21
You will find lots of coffee shops near any train station or shopping area in Tokyo. Most of them are chains (Starbucks, Doutor, Excelsior, Tully's etc). A few have an outdoor terrace with some tables, but because of lack of space in Tokyo there are not a lot of terrace areas to sit here compared to other countries.

You might want to check out Ben's Cafe in Takadanobaba as it sounds like it might suit you, but if you are living in a completely different area of Tokyo it is best to look for something nearer to your apartment.
by Sira (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2010/4/2 13:46
Sega Fredo.

That's really the only answer to this question.

There are of course specialty shops with wonderful coffee, but for the mix of excellent coffee, the chance to meet/watch people, price, location (Shibuya, Shinjuku West), Sega Fredo offers something entirely different compared to the typical Japanese cafe chain.
by kyototrans rate this post as useful

. 2010/4/2 15:39
The other reasons there are less outdoor seats here in Japan is because you get a lot of wind and rain and because not many 20th Century born Japanese people have the habit of dining/drinking outdoors unless the weather is really mild.