Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 28

1 2
next

What does 'daisuki' mean? 2008/4/20 16:19
So I'm an exchange student in Japan. And I was mailing my guy friend last night. We some how got onto the subject of relationships. He had asked me what I thought I about him, I told him he was my type.
Then I asked him: "What about me?"
He answered: "Mochiron daisuki dayo! -heart-"

Is it just a friendly daisuki, or does it mean more than that?
by RyuuGakusei  

it can mean more... 2008/4/20 19:27
Hey,

According to my GF (she is Japanese) it can mean more. However, I love you would be something like "Aishiteru"...

Good luck :-)

AUCH
by AUCH rate this post as useful

umm 2008/4/20 20:30
Unfortunately, "Daisuki" means both "I like you so much as a friend." and "I love you so much."
Even Japanese can't always know which.
In your case also.
Considering the contexts you wrote here, I can't yet tell you which his words mean...
by lonitary rate this post as useful

i think.... 2008/4/20 22:44
hi, i'm japanese girl.
i think he likes you so much, not as friend.
we don't say 'daisuki' to friend, also we don't often say 'aishiteru'='I love you'
As you know, japanese are shy and not good at express feeling compare with westerns.

good luck

by kei rate this post as useful

daisuki 2008/4/21 12:30
but, you know, its possible he used "daisuki" because he knew she was foreigner, right?
by lonitary rate this post as useful

... 2008/4/21 20:11
Aaaah. Still confused.
I do realize that he could've written daisuki because I'm a foreigner.
I asked my Japanese friends and they all said it could go either way.
So I mailed him and asked him what he meant...
He forgot his cellphone today so I don't know what he will reply!
Komaruyo!
by RyuuGakusei rate this post as useful

hmm 2008/4/22 08:28