Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 2 of 2: Posts 21 - 28 of 28
prev
1 2

Re: trouble making japanese friends 2012/1/11 10:47
Well I am an English teacher here in Japan, and I will tell you frankly that so far since the 4 and a half months I have lived in Japan, I have no Japanese friends, only Filippinos, blacks and Latino expats I have as friends. Japanese are a xenophobic people and it takes longer for you to make friends with Japanese, even if you are studying the language.
Most of all, don`t get too opinionated in touchy subjects dealing with religion and politics. As for feminism, Japanese women have a different kind of feminism than western women and I know this will hurt but western feminism is rejected by Japanese people, and I who hails from Canada does not support the western feminist ideology either.
So the best thing to do if you don`t have Japanese friends is to start with making friends with foreigners only. I don`t want to advocate Jim Crow or anything like that, but that is the best way to start out. If you belong to a religious organization, go to a Japanese congregation and see what result you may get from there.
by Sheldon (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: trouble making japanese friends 2012/1/11 14:06
I agree with what a previous poster said, you may come off as trying to make friends just because they are Japanese and not because you like them as people. I live in Japan and nothing turns me off faster than language/culture leeches who just want to have an American friend. They mean well and it comes out of an interest in my country, but I'd rather have friends who share my interests as opposed to a friendship based on suiting someone else's interests.