Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Page 219 of 233: Posts 4361 - 4380 of 4652
prev
1 ... 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 ... 233
next

Re: Yohi 2020/12/6 23:08
Yes, Eric. Hi! You are right. Nile C. Kinnick High School was so named after the switch from army to navy school in 1959. And there is a Kinnick High School in Yokosuka. Here is a question that puzzled me. I had many American classmates at my school, St. Joseph College, up on the Bluff in Yokohama that closed its doors in 2000. I was a student there from 1949-1961. But the American students were sons of diplomats and officers and business executives for the most part. And my former colleague at the paper I worked had a dad who was an admiral in the U.S. Navy. She was a student at St. Maur's next door.
I wonder why they chose the private schools instead of Yohi? But my classmates Tom, Sparky and Miles all had girlfriends who attended YoHi.
by Honmokujin (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Yokohama Navy Exchange was where? 2020/12/9 22:36
It looks like we just missed each other at St Joseph's. I was a student there until 1948, from 1946.
My Mom worked for the American Red Cross women, who were housed at Berrick Hall very near St Joseph's on the Bluff, in Yokohama, until we emigrated to the US.

While I was there at St Joseph's I do not believe there were any U.S. students there at all.....just kids from all over Europe, or kids of Japanese or Japanese/European backgrounds. It had formerly just admitted boys, with St Maur's the school for girls.

I attended St Maur's in Karuizawa until I was 8 in 1946, and I believe it took them a while to relocate to the Bluff. I first learned English there. I remember both St Joseph's and St Maur's with great affection.