Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 3 of 3: Posts 41 - 52 of 52
prev
1 2 3

. 2008/10/6 09:45
As far as I know, DS games are not region encoded, so you can buy a game in Japan and it'll work on your DS. I've got Japanese games and they work fine on my North American DS.

If you're looking at buying Japanese games, I would buy them when you're in Japan. The stores there have a wide variety of new and used games so you might find deal.
by Keitm rate this post as useful

new Mandarin and Japanese learning games 2008/10/15 19:21
I stumbled across this thread when looking for alternative Japanese learning games, and thought I'd leave a message just in case it can help. I recently purchased Ubisoft's 'My Chinese Coach' (in fact I bought the DS for this game), and have found it to be very useful so far. I studied Mandarin while in China so already have a basic knowledge, and though I haven't learned a great deal more because of this game YET, it is a great tool for learning characters and reaffirming vocab (and imagine it is very good for beginners too). It offers handy hints with grammar and usually all is explained as it goes along, so each lesson can be easily understanded as you progress. Very easy to use interface and offers useful games that works on recognition of characters/vocab and tones. It has a character writer which doesn't concentrate too much on stroke order (though it is written quickly in stroke order to allow you to trace/copy it), but it certainly helps. It also allows you to record your voice and compare it to a native, either with sentences or with words.