Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Page 82 of 233: Posts 1621 - 1640 of 4650
prev
1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 ... 233
next

40 yrs. ago 2009/7/21 01:57
I watched the landing in the clubhouse of a golf course near Yokohama.
by joe (guest) rate this post as useful

Space men 2009/7/21 02:15
I recall watching the astronauts carrying their briefcase-shaped ventilators, like some otherworldly businesmen, on their way to board the rocket. I was a college sophomore and my primary concern then was staying one step ahead of the draft board. Walter Cronkite had pronounced the Viet Nam episode a failure and there had been three or four funerals for kids from my hometown high school who had been lost over there.
Interestingly, Cronkite also said "everything that has happened in our time is going to be an asterisk," meaning the trip to the moon was the kickoff to populating the heavens with humanity. But instead, the moon walk itself became a footnote. No man or woman has reached farther than low earth orbit since 1972. It's like we went 240,000 miles, then lost our road map and our nerve.
by Eric (guest) rate this post as useful

Men in space 2009/7/21 05:35
I was vacationing in Mexico City, and watched the astronauts on tv in the hotel lobby - everyone was so excited - on the way to LA to meet my first set of inlaws.

Eric makes some interesting points. Other dreams of that era also went unfulfilled - like how technology was going to lessen the number of hours people needed to work, how hunger would be eliminated by improvements in agriculture, how world peace would be achieved. We recently listened to some folk music of that era - certainly a lot more optimism then we experience now. But it was a chaotic, violent era as well.
by Steffi (guest) rate this post as useful

40 years ago 2009/7/21 12:44
I was 12 years old. Don't remember where I was or what I was doing.
by Lori (guest) rate this post as useful